Contruent Blog

DCMA 14-Point Schedule Assessment Explained

In 2005, the Defense Contract Management Agency (DCMA) implemented a 14-Point Schedule to help identify potential issues within project schedules. These 14 points act as a means of evaluating schedules to ensure they are built to best practices.

DMCA’s 14-Point Schedule

dmca-14 point schedule explainedThese project schedule quality analysis points include a review of:

  1. Leads (Negative Lags)
  2. Lags
  3. Finish to Start Relationships
  4. Hard Constraints
  5. High Float
  6. Negative Float
  7. High Duration
  8. Invalid Dates
  9. Resources Assigned To Incomplete Tasks
  10. Missed Tasks
  11. Critical Path Test
  12. Critical Path Length Index (CPLI)
  13. Baseline Execution Index  (BEI)

While these are not the only issues that can exist within a project’s schedule, these14 points help a project manager to avoid many of the most common schedule problems. Once you have fully reviewed your schedule using these guidelines, you can import your final project schedules (baseline and forecast schedules) into ARES PRISM for time phasing budgets, forecast, and for calculating percent complete on control accounts. 

An accurate schedule takes you one step closer to completing your project on time and within budget.


To learn more about the DCMA 14-Point Schedule and to get more information on each of the points, read our newest white paper: DCMA 14-Point Schedule Explained.

This white paper explores the DCMA 14-Point Schedule Assessment and helps readers understand each metric’s description, purpose, threshold calculation and threshold value.